Industry honours control room heroes

APD has held the 2021 iteration of its annual Control Room Awards online, with the ceremony taking place in the middle of May.

The annual awards are described by APD as recognising “the selfless and unstinting efforts of control room individuals and teams who go above and beyond the call of duty to protect the public when they are most in need. They are the only accolades of their kind to celebrate the unsung heroes in control rooms across the UK and Ireland.”

Winners included North East Ambulance Service’s Hannah Shrimpton (Call Taker of the Year); Kent Police’s Natalie Harman (Dispatcher of the Year); and Ben Hawkins from East of England Ambulance Service (Young Achiever of the Year). The award for Services to the Public - sponsored by CCT publisher Mark Allen Group – was won by Jen Dalton of Leicestershire Police.

APD director of control room, Rhiannon Beeson, said: “This year’s awards have again showcased amazing examples of resilience and dedication to serving and protecting the public, during a year when control rooms were faced with unprecedented challenges and pressures.

“The nominations and winning entries have highlighted so many great initiatives that will have a legacy beyond Covid, as we gradually return to normality.”

According to APD, the awards, which are now in their fourth year, attracted entries from almost 100 organisations across England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland.

To continue the conservation, join us at Critical Communications Network - the new online community for the sector

Editorial contact

Philip Mason
Editor, Critical Communications Today
Tel: +44 (0)20 3874 9216