Control room awards celebrate call taking staff

The winners of the 2023 Control Room Awards have been announced. The ceremony took place this week at the Leonardo Hotel and Conference Venue in Hinckley Island, Leicestershire.

According to organisers, more than 180 nominations were received from emergency services across the UK and Ireland. There were 12 awards in total, including the British APCO Control Room Innovation Award, which was new for this year.

According to a statement, the latter “recognises an innovative approach, or use of technology, within the control room which has made a real difference to operations or performance.” It was won by Thomas Stibbards of London Fire Brigade.

Other winners this year included Kent Police’s Keiron Beadle (recipient of the Bravery and Courage award), East of England Ambulance’s Ben Hawkins (Community Champion) and Kent Police’s Karen Sandland (Control Room Ambassador). The Call Taker of the Year award went to London Fire brigade’s Dolly Shilling.

A full list of the winners is available on the Control Room Awards website.

Discussing the event, co-founder Mike Isherwood said: “I’d like to congratulate all the winners, and thank all our sponsors and partners for making the Control Room Awards 2023 such a success.

“The [awards] were launched to celebrate a community which works tirelessly behind the scenes to keep the public safe. Their passion and commitment to the role is inspiring and every individual or team nominated or shortlisted should feel immensely proud of the work they do.”