Annual awards honour control room staff

The winners of the 2022 Control Room Awards have been announced, at a ceremony taking place in Birmingham near the end of September.

According to the organisers, over 170 nominations were received from more than 40 organisations, including police forces, ambulance services, fire services, HM Coastguard, as well as private care providers.

Discussing the awards, a spokesperson said: “[They] are the only accolades of their kind, recognising the selfless dedication of control room teams and individuals across the UK and abroad.”

Winners included:

Community champion – Tom Barnett, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

Control room ambassador of the year – Helen Rea, London Fire Brigade

Team of the year – Herts Careline

Leader of the year – Natalie Gregory, East of England Ambulance Service

Young achiever – Jules Fynn, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

Control room call taker – Nicola Cleaveland, Kent Police

Control room dispatcher – Karen Hay-Barr, Lincolnshire Police

Special recognition for bravery and courage – Sophie Sutton, Lincolnshire Police

Award for services to the public – Dean Rogers, National Ambulance Service of Ireland

John Gilhooly award – Garry Campion, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

Lifetime achievement award – Stephen Rennie-Brewer, Lincolnshire Police

The awards were organised by their founder Mike Isherwood. He said: “The Control Room Awards were launched to shine a spotlight on the remarkable work of so many outstanding individuals and teams in control rooms for the emergency services and critical control operations.

“This is an inherently humble community that rarely shouts about the life-saving work its members do every single day, instead focusing on keeping the public safe. That’s why it’s so important that these awards exist, to give these amazing people and their work much-deserved recognition.”

He continued: “The quality and depth of the judging pack this year tells you how inspiring this community is. The judges had an incredibly difficult job choosing the winners and every team and individual nominated or shortlisted should feel immensely proud of the important work they do.

“I would like to congratulate all of the winners and also say a huge thank you to all of our sponsors and partners for making this year’s event such a success.”

To continue the conversation join us at Critical Communications Network - the new online community for the sector