UK control room awards shortlist published

The finalists in the Control Room Awards 2022 have been announced.

According to the organisers, over 170 entries were received this year, from over 40 organisations located in the UK and abroad. Entries were submitted from police, ambulance and fire and rescue services, the Maritime and Coastguard Agency as well as private care providers.

There are 11 awards categories, including Team of the Year, Call Taker of the Year and Community Champion.

Discussing the awards, founder Mike Isherwood said: “We’re delighted that the Control Room Awards are back as an in-person event this year, for the first time since the start of the pandemic.

“Over the past couple of years, the emergency services and control rooms have faced unprecedented pressures and demands. These awards are a vital opportunity to recognise how control teams and individuals continue to respond brilliantly to these challenges, with amazing professionalism, skill and resilience. Congratulations to all the finalists, in what has been an exceptional year of entries.”

Categories and finalists:

- Community Champion

• Tom Barnett, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

• Emma Hobday, West Mercia Police

• Andy Miller, Kent Police

- Control Room Ambassador of the Year

• Jonathan Mustard, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

• Helen Rea, London Fire Brigade

• Jools Reavill, Lincolnshire Police

- Team of the Year

• Durham Constabulary Communications B Relief Team

• Herts Careline

• Lincolnshire Police Force Control Room

- Leader of the Year

• Jon Goldie, London Ambulance Service NHS Trust

• Natalie Gregory, East of England Ambulance Service

• Kelly Kirk, Lincolnshire Police

- Young Achiever of the Year

• Jules Fynn, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

• Simone Jefford, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

• Laura Reed, Welsh Ambulance Services NHS Trust

- Control Room Call Taker of the Year

• Liam Charles, North East Ambulance Service

• Nicola Cleaveland, Kent Police

• Megan Turtle, Kent Police

- Control Room Dispatcher of the Year

•Martin Clark, Kent Police

•Karen Hay-Barr, Lincolnshire Police

•Jack Smith, Kent Police

- Special Recognition for Bravery and Courage

• Leanne Diamond-Page, Kent Police

• Becky Haywood, Staffordshire and West Midlands Fire Control

• Sophie Sutton, Lincolnshire Police

- Award for Services to the Public

• Emma Hobday, West Mercia Police

• Dean Rogers, National Ambulance Service of Ireland

• Jonathan Styance, Kent Police

- Lifetime Achievement Award

• Anthony Boothman, Essex Police

• Gary Campion, Maritime and Coastguard Agency

• Stephen Rennie-Brewer, Lincolnshire Police

The Control Room Awards will be held on September 21 at the NEC in Birmingham.

To continue the conversation join us at Critical Communications Network - the new online community for the sector