ICCAs: This year’s winners

The International Critical Communications Awards took place in Berlin on 15 May and were co-located for the first time with Critical Communications World.

The awards ceremony, which attracted a record number of entries, consisted of nine categories and these were assessed by an independent panel of judges.

This year’s categories, winners and finalists were:

Best Use of Critical Communications for Public Safety
Winner: The participants of the Norway-Sweden ISI project (MSB, DSB, Airbus Solutions and Motorola Solutions)

City of Hamburg – Operation Management of the G20 Summit
Leonardo – TETRA Network for Argentina
Nokia Solutions and Networks – Nokia Saving Lives
State Secretariat of Public Safety for Rio de Janeiro – SIRCE

Best Innovation Award
Winner: Smith Myers Communications with its ARTEMIS avionics communication and location system for the location of missing persons during disasters.

Bittium – Bittium Tough Mobile CMotorola Solutions – Si500 Video Speaker Microphone
Radlink Communications – Aurizon Rail Queensland TETRA System
West Yorkshire Police – PRONTO

Best Use of Critical Communications for Transport
Winner: Radlink Communications for its Aurizon Rail Queensland TETRA system project.

Athens International Airport – Telematics Project Implementation
Motorola Solutions – Rheinbahn, Ruhrbahn and Duisberger Verkehrsgesellschaft deploy Motorola Solutions DIMETRA IP Scalable
Motorola Solutions – Trenes Argentinos Operaciones (SOFSE) – “Smart Mission Critical Solutions on Rails”

Best Use of Critical Communications in Utilities

Winner: PowerTrunk for its Diverse Power TETRA Network project

Korea Electric Power Corporation – Digitalized Trunked Radio Solution for Power Automation and Industry IoT
Nokia – Converged FAN
Yorkshire Water – Adoption of NetMotion’s Mobile Performance Management Software

Outstanding Single-Site Critical Communications Installation
Winner: Athonet and AMBRA for their 5G-ready Critical Communications for Mining Deployments entry

Motorola Solutions – Making Campus Safety a Priority with Critical-Communications Technology and Services
Nokia Solutions and Networks – Nokia Saving Lives

Best Evolution to Future Broadband
Winner: Airbus for its Tactilon Dabat TETRA/LTE hybrid terminal.

Bittium – Bittium Tough Mobile HybridX Tactical Extension
ETELM – 4GLinked
Hytera Mobilfunk – Hytera Multi-mode Advanced Radios, PTC760/PDC760
Teltronic – TETRA + LTE Convergent Solution

Best Use of Control Room Systems

Winner: Motorola Solutions with Project Green Light Detroit

APD Communications – Leading Critical Communications Innovation for the Control Room
Ministry of Interior Kuwait – Decision Making Room

TCCA Young Engineer of the Year
Winner: Thomas Roth of Gryphon Secure

Rodrigo Batista de Moura, State Secretariat of Public Safety for Rio de Janeiro
Ermin Huremovic, APD Communications
Islam Saif, Motorola Solutions

Outstanding Contribution to Critical Communications
Winner: David Chater-Lea (he was given a spontaneous standing ovation by the audience during the ceremony).

Finalist: Mike Norfield, Simoco Wireless Solutions

In addition, ETSI’s CTO, Adrian Scrase, presented TCCA’s chief executive, Tony Gray, with an award on behalf of ETSI and 3GPP in recognition of TCCA’s unstinting efforts in championing the interests of critical communications users across the globe.

The event started with an introduction from Land Mobile and Critical Communications Today’s editor, Sam Fenwick and Ken Rehbehn, principal analyst at Critical Communications Insights acted as compère. Look out for more coverage of the evening and the winning entries in the next issue of Critical Communications Today.