ICCAs 2023 showcase mission critical comms sector

The winners of this year’s International Critical Communications Awards (ICCAs) have been announced, at a ceremony in Helsinki taking place last night.

The award ceremony was once again co-located with Critical Communications World, which is taking place this week in the Finnish capital.

Discussing the awards, TCCA CEO Kevin Graham said: “The International Critical Communications Awards program is a showcase for our industry, enabling recognition of the great work carried out by organisations and individuals around the world committed to enhancing the quality of critical communications for the benefit of all.”

Chair of the judges, Robin Davis said: “The standard of entry for this year’s awards was incredibly high, leading to a difficult task for our panel of independent judges, and I thank them for giving the ICCAs entrants their time and expertise in thoroughly evaluating all the submissions. Congratulations to the winners!.”

The winners are as follows:

Emerging technology, product or solutions (in development but not being used yet). Nokia Drone Networks for governmental site surveillance (Nokia).

Best Use of critical communications in public safety. Korea’s Safe-Net, world’s first nationwide LTE mission critical network (Samsung Networks).

Best use of advanced technology. CAPE Drone Software(Motorola Solutions).

Best use of critical communications in transport Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut corridor, communication over 3GPP MCX technology, ready for FRMCS (Teltronic)

Best use of critical communications in utilities. LECO Electricity MCPTT project (Hytera).

Best use of critical communications in mining, oil & gas. 5G underground experience (Aqura Technologies).

Control room innovation. X-2030 (Leonardo).

Best TETRA product or solution of the year. MXP7000 mission critical converged TETRA and LTE portable device (Motorola Solutions).

Best MC-X product or solution of the year. BEEHD MCX Framework (Softil).

Sustainability award. SCU3 hybrid TETRA+LTE vehicle device (Sepura).

TCCA Young Engineer of the Year. Aaron Page, Actica Consulting.

Government authority collaboration. National critical communications co-operation-based eco-system, Finland.

Champion for equality, diversity and inclusion. Debbie Powell, UK Home Office - Emergency Services Mobile Communications Programme (ESMCP)

The Phil Kidner Award for outstanding contribution to critical communications. Tor Helge Lyngstøl, Nødnett. Former DNK, now DSB.

In recognition of outstanding services to TCCA
Trevor Evans, Brian Murgatroyd, Anton Abrahams

Lifetime award in recognition of supporting TCCA
Adrian Scrase

Lifetime achievement Finland Award for work done in critical communication
Dr Janne Koivokoski

In recognition of outstanding service as chair of the judges
Robin Davis

Critical Communications World 2023 will continue in Helsinki until Thursday, May 25th.